• teacher of the year header

    Knox County Schools honored nearly 200 teachers during its 2019-2020 Teacher of the Year celebration at the Knoxville Convention Center on Tuesday. The event was sponsored by Lifetouch and Partners In Education.

    The Teacher of the Year celebration is held each year to recognize outstanding educators from Knox County Schools. To be considered, a candidate must be a full-time, certified PreK-12 teacher who has taught five or more years and spends the majority of the day instructing students. Candidates must also show dedication to teaching and possess a variety of positive personal attributes.

    School-level recipients are nominated by their colleagues for this annual award and the number of recipients per school is determined by the number of faculty at the school.

    From the group of school-level winners, the following three Knox County Teacher of the Year recipients were selected using the Tennessee Department of Education guidelines:

    • Crystal Dougan from Brickey-McCloud Elementary is a K-5 library media specialist who began a reading incentive program at her school library two years ago. She has seen a significant increase in students who achieve their AR goals and in ELA scores on the TCAP.

    • Janet Smith from Karns Middle School is an 8th-grade ELA teacher who has never forgotten the importance of empowering individual students, including those who are struggling. During her time at Karns, she has helped create a peer-tutoring program and has led the National Junior Honor Society.

    • Alice Carson from Powell High School teaches geometry and statistics and has been an educator for more than 30 years. She emphasizes collaboration among her students, and has helped implement Focus Review Sessions that enable students to receive tutoring on specific objectives.