• ical

     
     

    2023-2024 Knox County Schools Calendar

     
    Printer Friendly Version of this calendar - A pdf file suitable for printing (Adobe Acrobat required)
     
    The 2023-2024 Knox County Schools Calendar was revised on February 8, 2024. The early release days on January 24, February 19, and March 20, as well as the system-wide in-service scheduled for February 19 were cancelled to account for additional flexibility in case of future inclement weather. These dates will now be full, regular school days.
     
    2023
    August
    August 1 (Tuesday)
    First Day for Teachers - In-service (School-based)
    August 2 (Wednesday)
    In-service Day (PreK - 12 System-wide)
    August 3 (Thursday)
    Administrative Day (Teacher Workday)
    August 4 (Friday)
    In-service Day (1/2 day–School-based); Administrative Day (1/2 day–Teacher Workday); Orientation for 6th and 9th graders
    August 7 (Monday)
    Administrative Day (Teacher Workday)
    August 8 (Tuesday)
    First Day for Students (1/2 day for students)
    August 16 (Wednesday)
    Early Release Day for Students » School Times
    August 29 (Tuesday)
    In-service Day (School-based) (Student Holiday)
    September
    September 4 (Monday)
    Labor Day – Holiday
    September 8 (Friday)
    End 41/2 Grading Period (22 Days)
    September 17 (Sunday)
    Constitution Day
    September 20 (Wednesday)
    Early Release Day for Students » School Times
    October
    October 6 (Friday)
    End First 9-weeks Grading Period (42 days)
    October 9-13 (Monday-Friday)
    Fall Break
    November
    November 7 (Tuesday)
    In-service Day (PreK-12 System-wide)(Student Holiday)
    November 15 (Wednesday)
    End 41/2 Grading Period (22 Days); Early Release Day for Students » School Times
    November 22-24 (Wednesday-Friday)
    Thanksgiving Holidays
    December
    December 20 (Wednesday)
    1/2 day for Students; End Second 9-weeks Grading Period (44 days); End First Semester (86 days)
    December 21-January 2 (9 Days)
    Winter Holidays
    2024
    January
    January 3 (Wednesday)
    In-service Day (1/2 day–School-based); Administrative Day (1/2 day–Teacher Workday); (Student Holiday)
    January 4 (Thursday)
    First Day for Students after Winter Holidays
    January 15 (Monday)
    Martin Luther King, Jr. Day – Holiday
    January 24 (Wednesday)
    Early Release Day for Students - CANCELLED
    February
    February 5 (Monday)
    End 41/2 Grading Period (22 Days)
    February 14 (Wednesday)
    Early Release Day for Students - CANCELLED
    February 19 (Monday)
    In-service Day (Pre-K-12 System-wide) - CANCELLED
    March
    March 5 (Tuesday)
    Holiday (Presidential Primary Election)
    March 8 (Friday)
    End Third 9-weeks Grading Period (44 days)
    March 11-15 (Monday-Friday)
    Spring Break
    March 20 (Wednesday)
    Early Release Day for Students - CANCELLED
    March 29 (Friday)
    Holiday
    April
    April 1 (Monday)
    Holiday
    April 19 (Friday)
    End 41/2 Grading Period (23 Days)
    May
    May 23 (Thursday)
    Last Day for Students (1/2 day for students); End Second 9-weeks Grading Period (Fourth 9-weeks Grading Period); (47 days) End Second Semester (91 days)
    May 24 (Friday)
    Administrative Day (Teacher Workday) – Last Day for Teachers
    June
    June 19 (Wednesday)
    Juneteenth - Holiday (Central Office Closed)
    Calendar Summary
    180*
    Instructional Days (excludes days earned through extended hours)
    4
    Scheduled Administrative Days
    2
    Unscheduled In-service Days
    1
    Unscheduled Parent-Teacher Contact Hours (formerly Teacher-Parent Conference Day)
    6
    Scheduled In-service Days
    6
    Early Release Days for Students
    10
    Vacation Days
     
    * In accordance with TCA 49-6-3004: 177 student instructional days plus three (3) due to the daily seven-hour schedule.
    Early Release Day Dismissal Times: Elementary - 12:30 PM; Secondary - 1:30 PM
    Under this calendar, Knox County Schools may cancel up to eight (8) instructional days due to inclement weather before any makeup days will be required. 
     
    Previous Calendars: Provided for reference