Excellence for Every Child

ical

 
 
2017-2018 Knox County Schools Calendar
Board Approved 4/05/2017
 
Printer Friendly Version of this calendar - A pdf file suitable for printing (Adobe Acrobat required)
 

2017


JULY
July 31 (Monday)
First Day for Teachers – In-service (Building)

AUGUST
August 1 (Tuesday)
In-service Day (PreK-12 System-wide)
August 2 (Wednesday) Administrative Day (Teacher Work Day)
August 3 (Thursday) Administrative Day (Teacher Work Day)
August 4 (Friday)
In-service Day (1/2 day–School-based);
Administrative Day (1/2 day–Teacher Work Day)
August 7 (Monday) First Day for Students (1/2 day for students)  School Times

SEPTEMBER
September 4 (Monday) LABOR DAY – Holiday – Schools, Central Office Closed

OCTOBER
October 6 (Friday) End First 9-weeks Grading Period (44 Days)
October 9-13 (Monday-Friday) FALL BREAK

NOVEMBER
November 7 (Tuesday)
In-service Day (PreK-12 System-Wide) (Student Holiday)              
November 22-24 (Wednesday-Friday) Thanksgiving Holidays

DECEMBER
December 20 (Wednesday) End Second 9-weeks Grading Period (44 days)
End First Semester (88 days)
1/2 day for students
December 21 – January 5 (12 days) WINTER HOLIDAYS

2018


JANUARY
January 8 (Monday) In-service Day (1/2 day–School-based);
Administrative Day (1/2 day–Teacher Work Day) (Student Holiday)
January 9 (Tuesday) First Day for Students after Winter Holidays
January 15 (Monday) Martin Luther King, Jr. Day – Holiday – Schools, Central Office Closed

FEBRUARY
February 19 (Monday) In-service Day (Building) (Student Holiday)

MARCH
March 9 (Friday)     
End First 9-weeks Grading Period (Third 9-weeks Grading Period) (42 Days)
March 12-16 (Monday-Friday) SPRING BREAK
March 30 (Friday)  
Holiday

APRIL
April 2 (Monday) In-service Day (PreK-12 System-wide) (Student Holiday)

MAY
May 24 (Thursday) Last Day for Students (1/2 day for students)
End Second 9-weeks Grading Period (Fourth 9-weeks Grading Period) (47 days)
End Second Semester (89 days)
May 25 (Friday) Administrative Day (Teacher Work Day) – Last Day for Teachers


Calendar Summary

177   Instructional Days (excludes days earned through extended hours)
 4   Scheduled Administrative Days
2   Unscheduled In-service Days
1   Unscheduled Parent-Teacher Contact Hours (formerly Teacher-Parent Conference Day)
6   Scheduled In-service Days
  10   Vacation Days
200   Days Total

Under this calendar, the Knox County Schools may cancel up to ten (10) instructional days due to inclement weather before any makeup days will be required.
 


Previous Calendars: Provided for reference    
 
CLOSE