• School Culture

    The Department of School Culture strives to create a positive environment for all.  By maintaining a focus on health, cultural responsiveness, trauma-informed strategies, healthy relationships, restorative discipline, and social-emotional learning, our staff will support students in developing the skills they need to be successful members of their community.  Staff will be supported through professional development for all educators tailored to meet individual needs.

    When we focus attention on the social and emotional wellbeing of every student and adult, actively valuing each individual, and looking for ways to include all voices in the success of a school, powerful effects ensue.  Fewer discipline problems, improved student motivation, and increased student academic performance. (Freiber, 1999; Preble & Newman, 2006)

     

    School Culture Work

    Knox County Schools is working to eliminate disparities in both academic achievement and discipline and to provide access to learning opportunities that reflect a rich diversity in a culturally sensitive manner. The district will continue to place a priority on preparing our students to interact in our increasingly diverse society.

    The Department of School Culture will support the district by working to eliminate disparities and to provide access to learning opportunities that reflect a rich diversity in a culturally sensitive manner. Emphasis will be placed on Whole Child Programming.

    • Equip educators and align resources, tools, and training to be culturally responsive, build positive relationships, and reflect the diverse needs for ALL students
    • Provide training of all staff in Adverse Childhood Experiences, monitor progress and refine best practices of behavior support systems to address specific school needs (Behavior support systems may include, but are not limited to, Trauma-Informed Care, PBIS, Restorative Practices and Cultural Responsiveness)
    • Seek and advocate funding for additional mental health professionals
    • Engage our whole school community to educate and respond to bullying based on research and evidence-based practice, effective pedagogy and strong partnerships
  • School Culture Staff

  •  
Showing results for "Professor named Smith at Elementary School"
Name Title Email
Jeffrey Wright Supervisor jeffrey.wright@knoxschools.org
Heather Willis Supervisor heather.willis@knoxschools.org
Ramona Dew Specialist-Coordinated School Health ramona.dew@knoxschools.org
Job Iles Specialist job.iles@knoxschools.org
Jay Butler Facilitator jay.butler@knoxschools.org
Paige Goodale AaCT Social Worker paige.goodale@knoxschools.org
Jeremy Macejewski Virtual Behavioral Health Liaison jeremy.macejewski@knoxschools.org
Robin Smith Social Worker robin.smith@knoxschools.org