Frequently Asked Questions

  • What is the TCAP Achievement Test?
    The TCAP Achievement test uses multiple choice questions that provide a measure of knowledge and application skills in various subject areas for grades K-8. The results of the TCAP Achievement Test provide valuable information regarding student's progress in Tennessee.

    Who will take the TCAP Achievement Test?
    The TCAP Achievement test is mandated for all students in grades 3-8. The test is not mandated for grades K-2; however, school systems may elect to test students in K, 1 and/or 2.

    What subjects are covered on the test?

    The test for K includes reading, language arts, and mathematics.

    The test for grade 1 includes reading, language arts, mathematics, science, social studies, word analysis, vocabulary, and math computation.

    The test for grade 2 includes reading, language arts, mathematics, science, social studies, word analysis, vocabulary, language mechanics, math computation, and spelling.

    The tests for grades 3-8 include reading, language arts, mathematics, science, and social studies.

    The tests are broken into segments for students to take over several days.

    When will the test be administered to Tennessee students?
    Schools should schedule test administration during this testing window.

    What are the accommodations for special populations?
    Assessment Accommodations - There are English Language Learner Accommodations, Allowable Accommodations, as well as Special Accommodations available.

    How will the scores be used?
    The results are provided to teachers and school administrators to help them address the instructional needs of Tennessee students. They may be used as one measure of student achievement during the current school year.

    What types of score reports will be generated from the TCAP Achievement Test?

    The reports for grades Kindergarten (K) through 2 will provide information comparing the achievement of Tennessee students with the performance of students from across the nation.

    The reports for grades 3 through 8 will provide information concerning performance on specific objectives (criterion-referenced) and a description of student performance on academic skills based on the grade span standards (performance levels).
    What types of items will be on the test?

    The TCAP Achievement Test will include Criterion-Referenced items for all students in grades 3 through 8 in Reading, Language Arts, Mathematics, Science, and Social Studies.

    What are Criterion-Referenced Tests (CRT) ?
    Criterion-Referenced items measure a student's performance according to specific standards, rather than to the performance of other test takers. These items are directly aligned with the Content Standards and State Performance Indicators.

    What can parent, teachers, school counselors and administrators do to help prepare students for the test?

    During the School Year:

    * Communicate any concerns regarding the student's performance immediately.
    * Be aware of your school's testing dates and times.
    * Ensure that the student completes all homework assignments.
    * Parents should set aside a daily study time.
    * Discuss the students' school work with him or her regularly.
    * Praise the student for hard work and good effort.
    * Encourage the student to ask questions at home and in class.
    * Convey to the student the importance of a good education.

    On the Day of Testing Parent Should:

    * Provide a healthy breakfast for your child.
    * Make sure that your child attends school.
    * Be sure that your child is at school on time and relaxed.
    * Encourage your child to do the best work possible.
    * Not cause your child any unnecessary stress regarding the test.