Return to Headlines

Knox County Schools Recognizes Teachers of the Year

Knox County Schools honored nearly 200 teachers during its 2018-2019 Teacher of the Year celebration at the Knoxville Convention Center on Thursday, Feb. 22, 2018. The event was sponsored by LifeTouch and Partners in Education.

The Teacher of the Year celebration is held each year to recognize outstanding educators from Knox County Schools. To be considered, a candidate must be a full-time, certified PreK-12 teacher who has taught five or more years and spends the majority of the day instructing students. Candidates must also show dedication to teaching and possess a variety of positive personal attributes. School-level recipients are nominated by their colleagues for this annual award and the number of recipients per school is determined by the number of faculty at the school.

From the group of school-level winners, the following three Knox County Teacher of the Year recipients were selected using the Tennessee Department of Education guidelines:

  • Madison Snyder from Bonny Kate Elementary has been teaching with KCS since 2014. She has served as a Canvas Summer Camp Counselor, a technology trainer, a mentor teacher and as a team leader. She has also served such groups as Girls on the Run of Greater Knoxville and Camp Ba Yo Ca and served in many volunteer roles for her school’s PTA.
  • J.T. Hicks from Cedar Bluff Middle School has been teaching for 12 years and has been with Knox County Schools since 2012. In that time, he has served as a Mentor Teacher, a Team Leader and as a member of the Principal Advisory Committee. He has also been recognized as a Lexus Leader of Knoxville, as a two-time Tennessee Lottery State Educator of the Month and a two-time WBIR Educator of the Week. He serves as a science bowl coach, youth basketball coach and as a show design and percussion consultant to both Wartburg High School and Karns High School.
  • Bryan Schultz from L&N STEM Academy has been teaching for 10 years and has served as the Science Department Chair, as a member of the UTK Earth & Planetary Sciences Advisory Board, on the National Honor Society Committee and the Staff Development Committee. He has been recognized as a teacher of the year honoree in previous years and is responsible for creating the L&N STEM Advisory Board.