Return to Headlines

Knox County Schools Honors Teacher of the Year Recipients

On Tuesday, February 23, at 6 p.m., the Knox County Schools will honor teachers during its 2016-2017 Teacher of the Year celebration at the Holiday Inn Downtown (525 Henley Street). This year’s event is sponsored by Comcast, Rusty Wallace Automotive, and Kroger.
The Teacher of the Year celebration is held each year to recognize outstanding educators from the Knox County Schools. The Knox County Schools adheres to the Tennessee Department of Education guidelines for selecting the three overall Teacher of the Year award recipients. To be eligible for the Teacher of the Year honor, each candidate must be a full-time, certified Pre K-12 grade teacher who has taught five years or more and spends the majority of the day instructing students. Candidates must also show dedication to teaching and possess a variety of positive personal attributes. Recipients are nominated by their colleagues.
Honorees from each school will be recognized, but only three honorees—one primary educator (PK-4) and two secondary educators (5-8 and 9-12)—will receive the Knox County Teacher of the Year award. Each school-level honoree who is interested in being considered for the Knox County Teacher of the Year award must prepare a submission that includes a general information form and an overview of his/her educational history, professional development, leadership and community involvement.
The number of Teacher of the Year honorees each school can recognize is based on their overall faculty numbers. Schools are allowed to recognize one honoree for every 20 faculty members.
Please note that two or more members of the Board of Education may be present.