Return to Headlines

KCS Accepted into Digital Promise League of Innovative Schools

March 24, 2014 
Digital Promise, a national, independent nonprofit organization authorized by

As part of the School Technology Challenge, Bearden High School students are able to use computers for a class project.
Congress to accelerate innovation in education, has announced the Knox County Schools as one of nine new members accepted into the League of Innovative Schools.
The League of Innovative Schools is a national coalition of school districts and educational agencies that is both a professional learning network and an incubator for innovative educational practices. The League brings together educators, researchers, and entrepreneurs to demonstrate, evaluate, and replicate promising ideas, with the goal of improving student achievement.
“We are thrilled to be selected to engage in this unique collaborative learning opportunity,” said Dr. Jim McIntyre, Superintendent of the Knox County Schools. “The League will help us to learn from other innovative school districts, as well as better leverage the tremendous talents of our teachers and classroom technology to better prepare our students for success in our increasingly digital world.”
The Knox County Schools was selected from a competitive and national pool of applicants, based on its leadership, evidence of results, innovative vision for learning powered by technology, and commitment to collaborating with other League members. Upon joining the League, members will share lessons learned, participate in national and regional forums, and partner with research institutions, technology developers, and one another to deliver better results for students.
“The idea behind the League is simple, but ambitious: Innovative superintendents can support each other in transforming the learning environment and improving engagement and achievement,” said Karen Cator, President and Chief Executive Officer of Digital Promise. “By adding these nine new members and the sum of their experiences, the League can become an even stronger catalyst for improving opportunity for students around the country.”
The nine members of the League of Innovative Schools spring 2014 cohort are:
•           Department of Defense Education Activity Kaiserslautern District — Baumholder, Germany
•           Highline Public Schools — Burien, WA
•           Knox County Schools — Knoxville, TN
•           Lexington County School District One — Lexington, SC
•           Mentor Public Schools — Mentor, OH
•           Pascack Valley Regional High School District — Montvale, NJ
•           Richland School District Two — Columbia, SC
•           Rowan-Salisbury Schools — Salisbury, NC
•           South Fayette Township School District — McDonald, PA
With these additions, the League now includes 46 school districts and education agencies in 25 states, representing nearly 3 million students.
“We are excited to welcome the new members of the League and to offer these districts the chance to learn together,” said Sara Schapiro, Director of the Digital Promise League of Innovative Schools.  “These exemplary educators recognize that while there is no ‘silver bullet’ in education, by coming together to tackle some big problems, district leaders, researchers, and entrepreneurs can make a meaningful difference.”
New members will be officially welcomed March 26-28, at the national League of Innovative Schools conference at Sunnyside Unified School District in Tucson, Ariz.
For more information on the Digital Promise League of Innovative Schools visit:
About Digital Promise

Digital Promise is an independent, bipartisan 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization authorized by Congress to spur innovation in education.Through its work with educators, technologists, researchers, and leading thinkers, Digital Promise supports comprehensive research and development to benefit lifelong learners and provide Americans with the knowledge and skills needed to compete in the global economy.

Point of Contact at Digital Promise is
Jason Tomassini, 202-450-3363 or
Points of Contact at Knox County Schools are
Melissa Ogden, 594-1905 or
Amanda Johnson, 594-2972 or