Return to Headlines

Knox County Schools Hosts “Principal for a Day” Nov. 18

Knox County business and community leaders spent much of a day in the principal’s office on November 18. These leaders also were in the classroom…and the cafeteria…and in teacher meetings…all through the Knox County Schools Principal for a Day program.
Knox County business and community leaders spent much of a day in the principal’s office on November 18. These leaders also were in the classroom…and the cafeteria…and in teacher meetings…all through the Knox County Schools Principal for a Day program.

Included in the Knox County Schools Strategic Plan, Excellence for Every Child, the Principal for a Day initiative invites stakeholders into the schools to learn more about the district’s vision, mission and strategic priorities while building “one big team” for students. This year, Principal for a Day brought together a broad range of government, civic, non-profit, community and business leaders to participate in a half-day experience with school principals at close to 60 schools. Most began their day as the students arrived at the schools then spent time meeting with school administrators, visiting classrooms, engaging with teachers, interacting with support staff and experiencing the life of a school from inside the school walls.

The Principal for a Day participants and the hosting principals then spent time with Dr. Jim McIntyre, Superintendent of the Knox County Schools, at a luncheon/feedback session. There, they shared their experiences, learned from each other and discussed with Dr. McIntyre the vision of the Knox County Schools and how the business community can help reach that vision.

In all, 75 business and community leaders participated at the following schools:
Darren Amador Walgreens Rocky Hill ES
Rebecca Ashford Pellissippi State Community College Gibbs HS
Matt Barrick WATE Central HS
Jeff Bond Templar School of Education/Johnson Univ. Career Magnet Academy
Patti Lou Bounds Knox County Board of Education Adrian Burnett ES
Lisa Bower Walgreens Inskip ES
Ed Brantley Knox County Commissioner Holston MS
Mike Brown Knox County Commissioner New Hopewell ES
Holly Burkett Pellissippi State Community College Blount County West HS
Phil Claxton Summer School of the South Hardin Valley ES
Tanya Coats Knox County Education Association Karns ES
Marsha Coggins First National Bank Middlebrook Ball Camp ES
Chris Cook  Walgreens West Hills ES
Robert Courtney Walgreens Gibbs ES
Brian Cox  Tennessee Smokies Baseball Club Carter ES
Bill Dunn Tennessee House of Representatives Powell MS
Brett Fender Walgreens West Valley MS
Rob Followell Tennova North Powell HS
Joshua Frye Walgreens Carter MS
John Fugate Commercial Bank Whittle Springs MS
Merritt Garner Walgreens Amherst ES
Mike Hammond Knox County New Hopewell ES
Doug Harris Knox County Board of Education Sarah Moore Greene Magnet Academy
Dana Hart Women's Basketball Hall of Fame Blue Grass ES
Terry Hill Knox County Board of Education Karns MS
Alan Hill AT&T Carter HS
BJ Hillard Kmart Halls HS
Kristina Howard Knoxville TVA Employees Credit Union Gresham MS
Lisa Hurst Boys & Girls Club South Knoxville ES
Diane Jablonski Knox County PTA Farragut IS
Jim Jablonski Landmark Trucks AL Lotts ES
Martha Jennings WBIR Cedar Bluff ES
Gloria Johnson Tennessee House of Representatives Fulton HS
J.J. Jones Knox County Halls HS
Joe Karl Herald News South-Doyle HS
Ellie Kittrell The Muse Knoxville Green Magnet Academy
Jeff Lee WBIR Bearden MS
Ted Lewis Pellissippi State Community College Austin-East HS
Dean Littleton WATE-TV 6 Belle Morris ES
Greg Mangan Drive 4 Life Academy Bearden HS
Nancy McBee TRANE Pond Gap ES
Melissa McCay Chick-fil-A Hardin Valley Acad
Lydia McCoy Knoxville News Sentinel Gresham MS
Melanie Morris WATE Gibbs ES
Ms. Lee Mrazek Farragut Rotary/Slyman Real Estate Farragut MS
Todd Napier The Development Corporation Karns HS
Dr. Mike North Pellissippi State CC Strawberry Plns Central HS
Andrew Osakue First Baptist Concord Maynard ES
Jeff Ownby Knox County Commissioner Sequoyah ES
Eric Palmer Sevier Heights Baptist Church South-Doyle HS
Kristen Pennycuff-Trent Farragut/KCS EdRelationsCmte/Tennessee Tech Farragut PS
Bob Petrone B&T Distributing West HS
Suzanne Prince Junior League of Knoxville Vine MS
Kristi Reynolds King University, Knoxville Campus Farragut HS
Jack Ryan WMYL-FM Brickey-McCloud ES
Ed Shouse Knox County Bearden HS
Michael Singletary University of Tennessee Knoxville Farragut IS
Kevin Slimp Kidsville Farragut HS
Jennifer Smith Walgreens Farragut PS
Hubert Smith WUTK radio Austin-East HS
Grant Standefer Compassion Coalition Kelley Volunteer Academy
Buzz Thomas Great Schools Partnership Cedar Bluff MS
Rosalyn Tillman Pellissippi State Community College L&N STEM Academy
Lori Tucker WATE Northshore ES
Kelsey Vaughn Wesley House Lonsdale ES
Kathryn Vinson Junior League of Knoxville Bearden ES
Joe Walsh City Parks and Recreation Sterchi ES
Ken Weathers WATE Amherst ES
Beth Weissfeld WBIR Rocky Hill ES
Stephanie Welch Great Schools Partnership Beaumont ES
Carla Werner Farragut/KCS EdRelationsCmte Hardin Valley Academy
Tammy White Leadership Knoxville Northwest MS
Cory White Walgreens South-Doyle MS
Dale Widmer Petro's Karns HS
Bob Wooldridge Knoxville Police Department Fulton HS
pfad2 pfad4