About the Museum of Education

  • Title
    Museum Hours:
    Monday thru Friday, 11:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.                                            
    Phone: (865) 579-8264 Ext. 1072

    Located in the
    Sarah Simpson Professional Development
    Technology Center
    Room 100
    801 Tipton Avenue, Knoxville, TN 37920

    The Knox County Museum of Education is located on the first floor of the Sarah Simpson Professional Development Technology Center, 801 Tipton Avenue.

    The museum opened in September 2006 and includes collections of materials from the Knoxville City Schools which merged with the Knox County Schools in 1987 as well as material on Knox County schools. Records of schools dating back as far as 1820 have been found and are available for viewing at the museum.


     Sock Hop nets over $4,500 for museum

    Sock Hop
    The "Let's Go Back to the Hop 2" netted over $4,500 for the museum, according to the final report by the treasurer. The "Elvis" event featured the Voice of Charlotte's Chuck Ayers as Elvis, the Mayberry Knoxville characters (including Barney Fife, Otis, Briscoe Darling, Aunt Bea, and Floyd), the Doo Wop Diner, a Silent Auction, and souvenir photos by Andy Vance Photography.
    During the event, Elvis sang 'special' songs to four couples whose stories were featured in the show. They included Larry and Mary Hitchcock, Tom and Sandy King, Bobby and Brenda Gratz, and Jack and Sandy Kirkland.
    "I want to thank all those who worked so hard to make this event a success," said David Armstrong, Producer and Emcee. The Sock Hop Committee members were David Armstrong, Mary Kerr, Sue Boyer, Margie LeCoultre, Tom Underwood, David Huntsinger, Dick McPherson, and Tanna Nicely.
    Download 2016 Sock Hop Fund Raiser Report

Museum Contacts

  • Benna Van Vuuren
    Executive Director

Board of Directors

  • Benna Van Vuuren
    Executive Director
    Wayne Smith
    Gene Akers
    Vice Chair
    Sue Boyer
    David Huntsinger
    Jerry Askew
    Jeff Berry
    Sam Bratton
    Ernie Gammon
    Wayne Keener
    Mary Kerr
    Margie LeCoultre
    Tom Underwood
    Elnora Williams
    Jack Williams
    Honorary Board Members
    Earl Hoffmeister
    Walter Mencer
    Roy Mullins
If you are having trouble viewing the document, click here to download it.